Winners of second Resident Writer's Award Program announced

New Orleans-Joshua Stein, MD, of Manhattan Eye, Ear, and Throat Hospital, was named the winner of the second annual Ophthalmology Times Resident Writer's Award Program. The program was sponsored by Advanced Medical Optics (AMO). In a presentation at the Ritz Carlton Hotel, Dr. Stein was the first-place winner among 11 participants from ophthalmic teaching institutions across the country. The second place winner was Benjamin Mason, MD, of the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami, and honorable mention was awarded to Christopher Banning, MD, of Emory University.

The awards program is designed to encourage excellence in writing and presentation skills among residents.

James V. Mazzo, president and chief executive officer of AMO, announced the winners and presented the finalists with a $1,000 check and plaque during a dinner.

The entries were judged by a review board panel including Mark Packer, MD, Marguerite McDonald, MD, Daniel Chang, MD (last year's winner), and Peter J. McDonnell. Dr. Stein's winning entry will be featured in a future issue of Ophthalmology Times.

Related Videos
Related Content
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.