Updates from ARVO 2012


The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology closed its 2012 annual meeting with more than 12,500 participants – its largest attendance ever.

New ARVO president, officers

At the General Business Meeting, ARVO members welcomed its new president, Peng T. Khaw, MD, PhD, FARVO, director of the National Institute for Health Research Biomedical Research Centre for Ophthalmology, professor of glaucoma and ocular healing at University College London Institute of Ophthalmology, and consultant ophthalmic surgeon at Moorfields Eye Hospital, London. Dr. Khaw serves as the chair of the association's Glaucoma Section and was the first recipient of the ARVO/Pfizer translational award in 2005. His recent research interests include wound healing, glaucoma surgery, stem cells, and optic nerve regeneration.

Justine R. Smith, MBBS, PhD, FARVO, of Oregon Health Sciences University has been named president-elect and will serve the 2013 to 2014 term. John S. Penn, PhD, FARVO, of Vanderbilt University School of Medicine and David R. Williams, PhD, FARVO, of the University of Rochester School of Medicine are the vice presidents-elect for that term.

Other election results include three new trustees: Paul S. Bernstein, MD, PhD, FARVO (Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Section) of the University of Utah, Moran Eye Center; Emily Y. Chew, MD, FARVO (Clinical and Epidemiologic Research Section) of the National Eye Institute, National Institutes of Health; and Peter D. Lukasiewicz, PhD (Visual Neuroscience Section) of the Washington University School of Medicine.

2013 award recipients

The following 2013 ARVO Award recipients were named at ARVO 2012:
     ■ Proctor Medal and Lecture
        Vadim Arshavsky, PhD
        Duke University
        Theodore Wensel, PhD, FARVO
        Baylor College of Medicine
     ■ Friedenwald Award and Lecture
        David Huang, MD, PhD
        Oregon Health & Science University, Casey Eye Institute
     ■ Mildred Weisenfeld Award and Lecture
        David Epstein, MD, MMM
        Duke Eye Center
     ■ Cogan Award and Lecture
        Jonathan Demb, PhD
        Yale University
     ■ 2013 Carl Camras Translational Research
        Award recipients are:
        Anneke den Hollander, PhD
        Radboud University Nijmegen
        Robert MacLaren, Dphil, FRCS
        University of Oxford
        Stephen Tsang, MD, PhD
        Columbia University, Edward Harkness Eye Institute

© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.