Balloting begins for AAO elected posts

New Orleans-The presidential election may be a week away, but balloting has begun for four positions on the American Academy of Ophthalmology's (AAO) Board of Trustees.

Harry A. Zink, MD, is running for president-elect; David W. Parke II, MD, for senior secretary for Ophthalmic Practice; and Edward J. Holland, MD, for secretary for the annual meeting.

The board has nominated Tamara R. Fountain, MD, to the open trustee-at-large seat, which also is being sought by Ronald C. May, MD. Under the AAO's bylaws, Dr. May was required to submit at least 50 signatures to be included on the ballot.

Dr. Zink is a comprehensive ophthalmologist in private practice in Wooster, OH. He has a subspecialty in glaucoma. He has served on numerous AAO committees, holding such positions as trustee-at-large, and as the secretary for member services on the Committee of Secretaries since 1998.

Dr. Parke is the Edward L. Gaylord professor and chairman of the department of ophthalmology at the University of Oklahoma. He also is president and chief executive officer of the Dean A. McGee Eye Institute in Oklahoma City, OK. He is a former trustee-at-large, and is the board's senior secretary for ophthalmic practice.

Dr. Holland is director of cornea and exterior diseases at the Cincinnati Eye Institute and medical director of the Northern Kentucky Eye Laser Center. He also is a clinical professor of ophthalmology at the University of Cincinnati. With the AAO, Dr. Holland serves as associate secretary of the Skills Transfer Advisory Committee.

Dr. Fountain is associate professor of ophthalmology and director of Medical Student/Primary Care Resident Education at Rush Medical College of Rush University in Chicago. She serves on the AAO's Ethics Committee.

Dr. May, a comprehensive ophthalmologist in private practice in Deerfield, IL, is a member of the AAO's Council and has served as president of the Illinois Association of Ophthalmology. He is chairman of OPHTHPAC, the AAO's political action committee.

Members may register their votes online, at, or by mail. Votes must be received by Nov. 24.

Related Videos
Related Content
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.