Winners of fourth Resident Writer's Award Program announced

Omesh Gupta, MD, MBA, of Wills Eye Hospital, Philadelphia, was named the winner of the fourth annual Ophthalmology Times Resident Writer's Award Program. The program was sponsored by Advanced Medical Optics (AMO).

In a presentation at the Venetian Hotel, Dr. Gupta was the first-place winner among 14 participants from ophthalmic teaching institutions across the country. His presentation was entitled "Intracameral entry of antibiotic ointment following routine cataract phacoemulsification." The second place winner was Sonal Dave, MD, of the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami, for "Post-LASIK ectasia management" and honorable mention was awarded to Helene Lam, MD, of the Cullen Eye Institute/Baylor College, for "Management of intraoperative floppy iris syndrome."

The awards program, sponsored by AMO, is designed to encourage excellence in writing and presentation skills among residents.

Chris Calcaterra, vice president, Americas Sales and Marketing, AMO, announced the winners and presented the finalists with a $1,000 check and plaque during a dinner.

The entries were judged by previous winners, including Daniel Chang, MD, Joshua Stein, MD, and Jason T. Halverson, MD, as well as Peter J. McDonnell, MD, director of the Wilmer Eye Institute, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, and chief medical editor of Ophthalmology Times. Dr. Gupta's winning entry will be featured in a future issue of Ophthalmology Times.