• COVID-19
  • Biosimilars
  • Cataract Therapeutics
  • DME
  • Gene Therapy
  • Workplace
  • Ptosis
  • Optic Relief
  • Imaging
  • Geographic Atrophy
  • AMD
  • Presbyopia
  • Ocular Surface Disease
  • Practice Management
  • Pediatrics
  • Surgery
  • Therapeutics
  • Optometry
  • Retina
  • Cataract
  • Pharmacy
  • IOL
  • Dry Eye
  • Understanding Antibiotic Resistance
  • Refractive
  • Cornea
  • Glaucoma
  • OCT
  • Ocular Allergy
  • Clinical Diagnosis
  • Technology

Meeting has clinical focus


The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology and the ARVO Foundation for Eye Research will honor awards recipients at the 2010 annual meeting's ARVO/Alcon keynote session in May.

Among the honorees: The 2010 Class of ARVO Fellows at the keynote session. This is the second class of ARVO fellows and includes 57 gold fellows and 197 silver fellows. Fellow status recognizes current members for their individual accomplishments, leadership, and contributions to the association. Go to http://www.arvo.org/awards/fellows for the complete list of ARVO fellows.

The ARVO/Alcon keynote session features chemical engineer Robert S. Langer, ScD, who is the David H. Koch Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Dr. Langer's talk is entitled "The future of drug delivery and regenerative medicine in ophthalmology."


Among the awardees who will be honored at the keynote session are individuals whose award categories focus on contributions to the clinical practice of ophthalmology or on the contributions of clinician-scientists.

The Mildred Weisenfeld Award and Lecture is presented in recognition of distinguished scholarly contributions to the clinical practice of ophthalmology.

George L. Spaeth, MD, FARVO, Wills Eye Institute, Philadelphia, will receive the Weisenfeld Award for his lasting contributions to the gonioscopic evaluation of glaucoma and the advancement of its treatment, and to the education of two generations of ophthalmic physicians.

Dr. Spaeth will present the Weisenfeld lecture on Monday, May 3, entitled "Valid relevance in research and practice: Lessons from the field of glaucoma."

Go to http://www.arvo.org/awards for the full list of 2010 awards recipients.

ARVO/Pfizer Ophthalmics/Carl B. Camras Translational Research Awards. These new awards, supported by Pfizer Ophthalmics, honor the late Carl B. Camras, MD. Dr. Camras was highly respected for his work as a glaucoma specialist and a research scientist. He was most widely recognized for developing prostaglandin analogues for the treatment of elevated IOP in patients with glaucoma.

These awards honor early-career researchers for discoveries or observations that have led to, or have the promise of leading to, clinical applications. The 2010 recipients are:

Related Videos
Video 2 - 1 KOL is featured in, "Advances in Technology for SMILE procedure"
Video 1 - 1 KOL is featured in, "Overview of Small Incision Lenticule Extraction (SMILE)"
Vicki Chan, MD, shares pearls for leveraging the power of social media in health care
EyeCon 2024: Peter J. McDonnell, MD, marvels on mentoring, modern technology, and ophthalmology’s future
Lorraine Provencher, MD, presenting slides
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.