• COVID-19
  • Biosimilars
  • Cataract Therapeutics
  • DME
  • Gene Therapy
  • Workplace
  • Ptosis
  • Optic Relief
  • Imaging
  • Geographic Atrophy
  • AMD
  • Presbyopia
  • Ocular Surface Disease
  • Practice Management
  • Pediatrics
  • Surgery
  • Therapeutics
  • Optometry
  • Retina
  • Cataract
  • Pharmacy
  • IOL
  • Dry Eye
  • Understanding Antibiotic Resistance
  • Refractive
  • Cornea
  • Glaucoma
  • OCT
  • Ocular Allergy
  • Clinical Diagnosis
  • Technology

The American Academy of Ophthalmology announces board nominees


The American Academy of Ophthalmology has announced the slate of candidates for board positions that have terms beginning Jan. 1.

Key Points

San Francisco-The American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) has announced the slate of candidates for board positions that have terms beginning Jan. 1.

Randolph L. Johnston, MD, of Cheyenne, WY, is nominated for president-elect. Dr. Johnston currently serves on the AAO board as senior secretary for advocacy. In the past, he has been a member of the organization's council and committees related to state government and congressional advocacy. Also, he is a former chairman of the AAO's OPHTHPAC Committee and former coordinator of EyeMD for the organization's Laser Surgery Initiative. Additionally, he served 12 years on the group's Regional Roundup Organizing Committee.

Cynthia A. Bradford, MD, of Oklahoma City, OK, is nominated for senior secretary for advocacy. Dr. Bradford has served as secretary for state affairs on the AAO's Committee of Secretaries since 2004. She also has served on several AAO committees, including those related to state affairs, interspecialty education, basic and clinical science, and federal health staffing needs.

Dr. Barber is a fellow of the AAO and is chairwoman of the organization's Surgical Scope Fund Committee. She is a professor at the University of Arkansas College of Medicine and has her own practice of comprehensive ophthalmology and ultrasound.

Dr. Williams is a fellow of the AAO and represents the organization as a leading expert on its American Medical Association/Specialty Society Relative Value Scale Update Committee. He also is a clinical correspondent for the AAO. Dr. Williams is a clinical professor at Oakland University, Rochester, MI, and is part of the faculty team at William Beaumont Hospital in Royal Oak. He also is a practicing retina specialist at two offices.

In addition to announcing nominees for board positions, the board also re-appointed Humphrey J.F. Taylor as public trustee. Taylor is an honorary member of the AAO and has been a public trustee of the board since 1994. He has been chairman of the Harris Poll, a service of Harris Interactive, since 1994, and has had overall responsibility for more than 8,000 surveys in 80 countries.

Related Videos
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.