• COVID-19
  • Biosimilars
  • Cataract Therapeutics
  • DME
  • Gene Therapy
  • Workplace
  • Ptosis
  • Optic Relief
  • Imaging
  • Geographic Atrophy
  • AMD
  • Presbyopia
  • Ocular Surface Disease
  • Practice Management
  • Pediatrics
  • Surgery
  • Therapeutics
  • Optometry
  • Retina
  • Cataract
  • Pharmacy
  • IOL
  • Dry Eye
  • Understanding Antibiotic Resistance
  • Refractive
  • Cornea
  • Glaucoma
  • OCT
  • Ocular Allergy
  • Clinical Diagnosis
  • Technology

AAO reveals its Board of Trustees for 2006


Results are in for the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) 2006 Board of Trustees. The new term began Jan. 1.

C.P. Wilkinson, MD, was selected as president-elect. Dr. Wilkinson served as trustee-at-large from 1998 to 2001. He is a member of the EyeCare American Steering Committee and chairman of its diabetes program. Dr. Wilkinson is a past recipient of the academy's Honor, Senior Honor, and Lifetime Achievement awards.

Anne L. Coleman, MD, PhD, and Paul Sternberg Jr., MD, were chosen as trustees-at-large. Dr. Coleman has served on several academy committees and received the academy's Senior Achievement Award in 2004 and the Secretariat Award in both 2003 and 2004. Dr. Sternberg served as the academy's secretary of communications from 2000 to 2005 and on the state affairs secretariat as associate secretary to the Committee for State Affairs Organizational Development.

Randolph L. Johnston, MD, was re-elected as senior secretary for advocacy. Dr. Johnston has been a member of the academy's Council and chairman of the academy's OPHTHPAC Committee.

John R. Stechschulte, MD, was selected as the academy's Council chairman. He was the council vice chairman and is past president of the Ohio Ophthalmological Society.

Martin Wand, MD, was elected as vice chairman of the academy's Council. Dr. Wand has held numerous positions at the academy, including chairman of the National Glaucoma EyeCare Project and Academy Councilor for the American Glaucoma Society. He has received the academy's Honor, Senior Honor, and Secretariat Awards.

Related Videos
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.