• COVID-19
  • Biosimilars
  • Cataract Therapeutics
  • DME
  • Gene Therapy
  • Workplace
  • Ptosis
  • Optic Relief
  • Imaging
  • Geographic Atrophy
  • AMD
  • Presbyopia
  • Ocular Surface Disease
  • Practice Management
  • Pediatrics
  • Surgery
  • Therapeutics
  • Optometry
  • Retina
  • Cataract
  • Pharmacy
  • IOL
  • Dry Eye
  • Understanding Antibiotic Resistance
  • Refractive
  • Cornea
  • Glaucoma
  • OCT
  • Ocular Allergy
  • Clinical Diagnosis
  • Technology

2018 Ophthalmology Time Research Scholar Honoree Program


2018October 25th
Chicago, IL

This program is dedicated to the education of fellows and residents and offers a unique opportunity to share notable retina research with peers and mentors. This program is supported by unrestricted grants from Regeneron Pharmaceuticals and Carl Zeiss Meditec, Inc.


2018 Videos

2018 Top 5 Honorees

Brett Malbin, MD
Kresge Eye Institute Wayne State University
Detroit, MI

John Chancellor, MD, MS
Jones Eye Institute University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, AR

Nimesh A. Patel, MD
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute University of Miami
Miami, FL

Kenneth C. Fan, MD, MBA
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute University of Miami
Miami, FL

Tapan P. Patel, MD, PhD
Kellogg Eye Center University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

2018 Honorees

Joshua Barnett, MD, PhD
Chief Resident
Vanderbilt Eye Institute
Nashville, TN

Dianne Barrett, MD
McGovern Medical School at The University of Texas Health Science Center
Houston, TX

Annalisa Gurreri, MD
University of Bologna
Bologna, Italy

Kirk Hou, MD, PhD
Stein Eye Institute David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Los Angeles, CA

Eileen S. Hwang, MD, PhD
Froedtert Eye Institute Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI

Sana Idrees, MD
Flaum Eye Institute University of Rochester
Rochester, NY

Darren Knight, MD
Gavin Herbert Eye Institute University of California Irvine
Irvine, CA

Ravi Parikh, MD, MPH
Massachusetts Eye and Ear Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Kareem Sioufi, MD
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, SC

Bilong Yannick, MD
The University of Yaounde I
Yaounde, Africa

Faculty Judges

2018 Faculty Judges

Rishi P. Singh, MD
Program Chair
Staff Surgeon Cole Eye Institute, Cleveland Clinic and Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the Lerner College of Medicine in Cleveland Ohio

Harry W. Flynn Jr., MD
Professor of Ophthalmology at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

Judy E. Kim, MD
Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences with tenure at the Medical College of Wisconsin

Darius M. Moshfeghi, MD
Professor of Ophthalmology and Director of Retina at the Byers Eye Institute, Horngren Family Vitreoretinal Center, Department of Ophthalmology at the Stanford University School of Medicine

Charles C. Wykoff, MD, PhD
Director of Research, Retina Consultants of Houston; Deputy Chair for Ophthalmology, Blanton Eye Institute; and Associate Professor of Ophthalmology, Weill Cornell Medical College, Houston Methodist Hospital, Houston Texas

Related Articles

Download 2018 Program

Visit 2017 Honoree Program

Ophthalmology Times


Contact Us



What is the Ophthalmology Times Research Scholar Honoree Program?

The Ophthalmology Times Research Scholar Honoree Program is an exclusive recognition program available to residents and fellows involved with unique and notable research relative to the topic of retina. This educational activity consists of research, abstract submissions, live presentations and enduring article distribution. This is a non-accredited educational activity.

How will submissions be evaluated?

All submissions are reviewed by a panel of expert judges who will consider how the research contributes to the retinal community. The panel of judges will select the top 15 submissions and request that they present live. After the live presentation, the judges will select the top five finalists and announce the winner of the Ophthalmology Times Research Scholar Honoree Program.

What must be submitted to be considered?

Residents and fellows are asked to submit a summary, abstract and signed disclaimer for review and voting.
     • 100 Word Summary – A high-level view of the study and the overall contribution to Ophthalmology in layman’s terms.
     • 800 Word Abstract – Detailed description of the study.
     • Signed Disclaimer – A qualifying document must be signed by all candidates.

Will the entries be published?

To make this valuable education experience available to a broader audience, Ophthalmology Times will publish top presentations on ophthalmologytimes.com, and include summaries in an edition of Ophthalmology Times. The top 5 finalists will have their entries featured in a supplement to a peer-reviewed publication. Therefore, to be considered as a finalist in this program, we request first right of refusal for publication for inclusion in the peer-reviewed journal.

How is this award program funded?

This educational activity is supported through an unrestricted educational grant from Regeneron Pharmaceuticals and from Carl Zeiss Meditec, Inc.

Related Videos
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.