BU associate dean re-elected to AAMC’s Group on Research Advancement and Development Program Committee


stethoscope on medical documents. (Image Credit: AdobeStock/sharaku1216)

(Image Credit: AdobeStock/sharaku1216)

Andrew W. Taylor, PhD, associate dean for research at Boston University Chobanian and Avedisian School of Medicine, has been re-elected to the steering committee of the Association of American Medical College’s Group on Research Advancement and Development (GRAND) to serve through 2026.

According to a Boston University news release, GRAND provides a national forum for the promotion, support, development, and conduct of biomedical research in medical schools and teaching hospitals.

The university noted that Taylor joined its faculty of the Department of Ophthalmology and the immunology training program at the School in April 2010. As associate dean for research, Taylor has led the research enterprise since 2015. Prior to coming to BU, he was on the faculty of the Schepens Eye Research Institute and the Department of Ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School.

Moreover, according to the BU news release, Taylor is an internationally known National Institutes of Health (NIH)/National Eye Institute-funded researcher in ocular immune privilege, ocular neuroimmunobiology and ocular autoimmune disease. He received his PhD in 1990 from the Department of Microbiology at The Ohio State University and completed a postdoctoral fellowship in 1993 with Scott W. Cousins, MD, and J. Wayne Streilein, MD, at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine.

During his career, Taylor has also served as a member on several NIH review panel and for several international funding agencies and the Department of Defense.

In addition, according to the university, Taylor is a Gold Fellow of the Association for Research in Ophthalmology and Vision (ARVO) and an elected trustee of ARVO. He administers the Cora Verhagen Award for the best immunology student presentation at the annual meeting of ARVO. He is also an elected member of the Society for Leukocyte Biology Council.

Related Videos
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.