2018 Ophthalmology Times Research Scholar Honoree Program

2018October 25th
Chicago, IL

OT Honoree Research Program

This program is dedicated to the education of fellows and residents and offers a unique opportunity to share notable retina research with peers and mentors. This program is supported by unrestricted grants from Regeneron Pharmaceuticals and Carl Zeiss Meditec, Inc.

Content Below

2018 Videos

2018 Top 5 Honorees

2018 Honorees

2018 Faculty Judges

  • Rishi P. Singh, MD

    Rishi P. Singh, MD
    Program Chair

    Staff Surgeon Cole Eye Institute, Cleveland Clinic and Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the Lerner College of Medicine in Cleveland Ohio

  • Harry W. Flynn Jr., MD

    Harry W. Flynn Jr., MD
    Professor of Ophthalmology at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute

  • Judy E. Kim, MD

    Judy E. Kim, MD
    Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences with tenure at the Medical College of Wisconsin

  • Darius M. Moshfeghi, MD

    Darius M. Moshfeghi, MD
    Professor of Ophthalmology and Director of Retina at the Byers Eye Institute, Horngren Family Vitreoretinal Center, Department of Ophthalmology at the Stanford University School of Medicine

  • Charles C. Wykoff, MD, PhD

    Charles C. Wykoff, MD, PhD
    Director of Research, Retina Consultants of Houston; Deputy Chair for Ophthalmology, Blanton Eye Institute; and Associate Professor of Ophthalmology, Weill Cornell Medical College, Houston Methodist Hospital, Houston Texas


The Ophthalmology Times Research Scholar Honoree Program is an exclusive recognition program available to residents and fellows involved with unique and notable research relative to the topic of retina. This educational activity consists of research, abstract submissions, live presentations and enduring article distribution. This is a non-accredited educational activity.

All submissions are reviewed by a panel of expert judges who will consider how the research contributes to the retinal community. The panel of judges will select the top 15 submissions and request that they present live. After the live presentation, the judges will select the top five finalists and announce the winner of the Ophthalmology Times Research Scholar Honoree Program.

Residents and fellows are asked to submit a summary, abstract and signed disclaimer for review and voting.
     • 100 Word Summary – A high-level view of the study and the overall contribution to Ophthalmology in layman’s terms.
     • 800 Word Abstract – Detailed description of the study.
     • Signed Disclaimer – A qualifying document must be signed by all candidates.

To make this valuable education experience available to a broader audience, Ophthalmology Times will publish top presentations on ophthalmologytimes.com, and include summaries in an edition of Ophthalmology Times. The top 5 finalists will have their entries featured in a supplement to a peer-reviewed publication. Therefore, to be considered as a finalist in this program, we request first right of refusal for publication for inclusion in the peer-reviewed journal.

This educational activity is supported through an unrestricted educational grant from Regeneron Pharmaceuticals and from Carl Zeiss Meditec, Inc.